Central Avenue
Newton Aycliffe
Co. Durham

01325 300339

St Mary's Roman Catholic Voluntary Aided Primary School


The Governing Body

The Governing Body has a range of duties and powers and a general responsibility for the conduct of the school with a view to promoting high standards of educational achievement. Its responsibilities include but are not limited to:

  • setting targets for pupil achievement
  • managing the school's finances
  • making sure the curriculum is balanced and broadly based
  • appointing staff
  • reviewing staff performance and pay.

The Remit of the Governing Body

The governing body has considerable discretion as to how to discharge its responsibilities but is required to constitute itself in line with the regulations and to appoint a chair and vice chair. The governing body may delegate certain of its responsibilities to certain governors or committees of governors, although in general, it is not compelled to do so.

The Structure of Our Governing Body

Our governing body meets at least 3 times each year as a full governing body.  Our current Chair of Governors is Father Anthony Cornforth (Foundation Governor).  

It also has two active sub-committees.  

The Education Development Sub-Committee meets at least 3 times each year and supports and monitors the school's improvement agenda.  This includes looking closely at pupil performance data and the performance of all staff.  This committee is currently chaired by Kathleen Hammerton (Foundation Governor).

The Resources and Infrastructure  Sub-Committee focuses its work on health and safety, finance, buildings and personnel/staffing issues.  It also meets at least 3 times each year.  This committee is currently chaired by Mrs Ros Hutchinson (LA Governor).


Governors fall into 4 categories:

 Parent: These are voted in by the parents if more parents apply than are vacancies. They are the voice of a parent on the Governing Body.

Staff: A staff member is elected from the staff.

Foundation Governor: Appointed by the Bishop

Governor Vacancies 2021-22


At present we have two vacancies for  Foundation Governors.

 Please contact Fr Anthony Cornforth if you are interested.

Please click on the link below to learn more about being a Foundation Governor.







Term of Office







Fr. Anthony Cornforth

Chair of Governors

10/21- 10/25


Mrs K Hammerton

Vice Chair


06/19- 06/23


Pupil Outcomes(C)

Cllr S Quinn

 07/ 19-  06/23

 Pupil Outcomes

Mrs K Flanagan

06/19-   06/23

Staffing, Finance & Premises

Mrs Marilyn Leech

12/19 - 12/23









Mrs Roslyn Hutchinson

06/21 -  06/22

Staffing, Finance & Premises (C)


Miss Amanda Miles

09/20 -   09/24

 Pupil Outcomes



Mrs J Darnell

11/19 -   11/23

Pupil Outcomes 

Mr M Bowman

11/19 -   11/23

 Pupil Outcomes

Head Teacher

Mrs Annette Sowden


 Pupil Outcomes

Staffing, Finance & Premises


 Register of Business/ Pecuniary Interest


 Name of Governor Category and Position of Responsibility  Appointed by & Term of Office   Nature of Business Interest / other Educational Establishments  Relationship to Staff Date of Interest registered  Date Interest Ceased Date of Signature  Notes  
 Annette Sowden Head Teacher  01.09.13 

Foundation Gov

St Francis Xavier School Richmond


Co-opted Gov

Leyburn  Primary School

Head teacher   01.09.17    01.09.13  
 Amanda Miles Staff 


09/20 - 09/24

 Teacher Colleague        
Father Anthony Cornforth  Foundation


09/17 - 09/21

St John's Catholic Academy - Governor

St Joseph's RC Primary School Newton Aycliffe - Governor

Mrs Rosalyn Hutchinson   LA

06/17- 06/21

 Works at North East SCITT    06/17      
Mrs Kathleen Hammerton Foundation



06/19 - 06/23

Mrs Katie Flannagan Foundation



06/19 - 06/23

 Director Aycliffe Fabrications

Mrs Shirley Quinn Foundation


07/19 - 07/23

Local Councillor

Mrs Marilyn Leech Foundation


12/19 - 12/23

Vacancy Foundation






Mrs Jill Darnell Parent


11/19 - 11/23

Mr Mark Bowman Parent


11/19 - 11/23



Attendance at meetings and Committees during the academic year 2020 - 2021


Previous Governors

The school is required by law to state on its website, details of any governors who have served over the past 12 months - even if they have now ceased their appointment.